Mayor's Award for Scholastic Excellence

What is the Mayor's Award for Scholastic Excellence?

A yearly award to honor and recognize an outstanding student at Bob Jones High School, James Clemens High School, Discovery Middle School, Liberty Middle School, and St John's Catholic School who has demonstrated overall academic excellence and with outstanding accomplishments in one academic discipline.

DMS, LMS, and SJCS individual award recipients receive engraved plaques provided by the Mayor’s Office. In addition, a plaque showing the winner year by year is presented to the school.

The award recipients from James Clemens and Bob Jones High Schools are seniors who meet the criteria and receive a monetary scholarship.

How is the Scholarship Funded?

The Madison Chamber of Commerce gives a portion of the proceeds from the annual Mayor's State of the City Address. Personal and Corporate donations are also accepted to fund the scholarship.

If you would like to donate to this annual scholarship fund, please contact Kim Lindsey, the Mayor's Office Admin, at (256) 772-5603.

Past Scholarship Recipients

School Year
Student Name

Allison Louise Wade


Nathaniel Richard Patton


Adam Raul Gimenez


Thomas Espy


Hannah LaRhea Bowers


Caleb James Bradford

2010 – 2011

John Nicholas Mecikalski

2011 – 2012

Jon Ashly Priya Ganatra

2012 - 2013

BJHS: Frederick Odein Daso
JCHS: Dustin Alan Dykes

2013 - 2014

BJHS: Daniel Lang
JCHS: Lakshmi Subramani

2014 - 2015

BJHS: Annalicia M. Rosado
JCHS: Nicklas A. Allensworth

2015 - 2016

BJHS: Jayla Crump
JCHS: Pujan Patel